November 2013 Acquisitions

I’m not sure there is a typical month in collecting. This month (November) I added 20 vehicles to my collection.

Image

The majority were Hot Wheels, as I found a lot I liked and was looking for.

Of the eleven Hot Wheels only one was secondhand: a Cadillac Cien, I picked up in Drybridge market. There were quite a few from Smart, a supermarket in Rustaveli Avenue. The highlight for me was finding the Toyota 2000GT, which I’d be searching for since I learnt of its existence. The Mars Curiosity Rover, Herbie Beetle and Aston DB5 were also very welcome additions. Other models were a ‘76 Chevrolet Greenwood Convertible (my 14th Corvette), a Meyers Manx (classic shape for a beach buggy), a black Porsche 911 GT3R (I love this casting, I also have it in orange), the Scooby Doo Mystery Machine (with its associated childhood memories), a ‘69 Dodge Daytona Charger and a Ferrari 430 Scuderia (a Hot Wheels Treasure Hunt).

Matchbox are rarer than Hot Wheels, also recently Hot Wheels New releases have interested me more than Matchbox ones. I added four of the new 60th Anniversary models to my collection this month: a Lamborghini Gallardo Police Car, a Chevrolet bel Air Convertible, a Fire Rig and a Austin FX4 London Taxi.

Aside from the Mattel Hot Wheels and Matchbox I found five other models to add to my collection. The most expensive model was a Kingstar Ferrari Dino which cost me 20 lari from Drybridge Market. I don’t know much about this brand, I think it is Korean, but a Ferrari Dino is always welcome. After reading “Blood, Sweat and Tea“, the biography of a London Ambulance Driver, it is not surprising that I was tempted to find an ambulance or two. One is a Siku Mercedes Ambulance and the other is a Corgi Mercedes “Binz”Ambulance. Also a Majorette Volvo 760 GLE and a  Corgi Royal Mail Land Rover …as I once worked for Royal Mail, seeing the model at Drybridge market, I just had to get it.

November bilan: 20 models at a cost of 96 lari and 70 tetri (October by comparison was 21 cars and 125 lari 90). No Soviet vehicles this month and, apart from the Dino, all models around the two to three inch Matchbox size.

One thought on “November 2013 Acquisitions

  1. Pingback: 2013 Highlights | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

