Kinsmart

I wasn’t aware of Kinsmart until I arrived in Tbilisi. Here the brand is in hundreds of shops and market stalls. Kinsmart is a Chinese brand mainly producing cars in scales of between 1:32 and 1:40. I do have three in 1:64 all VW Beetles. I bought several in my first year here, but I’ve bought less recently, having found most of those I wanted.

My Kinsmart Collection 34 models

My Kinsmart Collection 34 models

The models are quite accurate representations of the real cars. They usually have opening doors. What I don’t like is the pull back action motor, a toy like feature, I rarely use. The cars are relatively cheap costing as little as 5 lari each ($3 or £1.83). Most models are usually available in 4 colours.

Kinsmart Porsche 911 GT3R

Kinsmart Porsche 911 GT3R

My favourite casting is the 1:36 Porsche GT3R, I have all four  colour versions, now. Just when I think I have all the versions…I find another one…a matt green one…I also may have spotted a Police Version….

Porsche 911 GT3RS

Porsche 911 GT3RS

May 7 2016: Just discovered that Kinsmart has put out a casting of a Lamborghini Miura P400SV in 1:34 scale. This might well be my favourite casting, it comes in yellow, orange, red and green.

P1440059

1971 Lamborghini Miura P400SV

Many Grocer’s shops and market stalls stock Kinsmart.

Image

Kinsmart display in the market

Kinsmart Fords and Chevrolets

Kinsmart Fords and Chevrolets

Kinsmart British Sports Cars

Kinsmart British Sports Cars

Kinsmart German Cars

Kinsmart German Cars

.The only 1:64 Kinsmart I have come across are the little VW Beetles.

Kinsmart Police Cars: VW Beetle and Chevy Camaro

Kinsmart Police Cars: VW Beetle and Chevy Camaro

These two ’67 police cars have similar decals and even the same number 388 on their roofs.

Kinsmart Police Cars: Chevy Camaro, Porsche 911GT3R and VW Beetle. All with similar livery.

Kinsmart Police Cars: Chevy Camaro, Porsche 911GT3R and VW Beetle. All with similar livery.

Lotus Exige

Lotus Exige

The Lotus Exige is a very attractive model, foreground a red Exige S, background a white Exige R-GT in racing livery. Both are 1:32 scale.

vw-kinsmart

Some Kinsmart VWs

My favourites are often the most recently acquired, like the Lotus Exige S (bought yesterday 11 October 2014), the Chevy Camaro Police Car and the Porsche 911 GT3RS, which I think looks best in white, but I love all the versions of this model.

Lotus Exige S, Porsche 911 GT3RS and '67 Chevy Camaro Police Car

Lotus Exige S, Porsche 911 GT3RS and ’67 Chevy Camaro Police Car

4 thoughts on “Kinsmart

  1. onde fica tbilisi. voçê se deu bem porque onde moro levei cinco anos para adquirir 87. manda uns pra mim ae.

  2. Pingback: Monthly Acquisitions: January 2015 | jimholroyd diecast collector

  3. Pingback: RMZ City | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

