Italian Cars: Ferrari

There are plenty of Ferrari models about, there is something special about Ferrari: the racing pedigree, the sublime shapes, the prime example of an Italian supercar. I have over 30 in my collection.

ferrari 013

The green one is a 599 assembled from a Bburago kit. The 1962 250 GTO was found in a model shop in Newcastle. A Ferrari 250 GTO, owned by American collector Paul Pappalardo, recently reportedly sold for$52 million, if true this would be the most expensive car ever. What makes a car that had 39 examples built more valuable than one that had only 10 units produced? Racing pedigree. The 250 GTO is a racing legend, having won the 1964 Le Mans 24 hour race. It also looks fantastic. My model cost £6.99. The Testarossa cost me a little more, 25 lari and it came with a magazine (in Russian).

001

Hot Wheels 308 GTS, the wheels are like early Matchbox Superfast. In the box a Dino, which I found at Drybridge Market. The model brand Kingstar is new to me but I believe it is Korean. Few cars look good in yellow, these Ferraris are exceptions.

Hot Wheels Ferrari 5 Pack

Hot Wheels Ferrari 5 Pack

“I look at the cars made in Italy today and I see nothing which sends a shiver down my spine. The Ferrari 360 looks like a surprised frog. That 612 looks like a Bristol …” Jeremy Clarkson

ferrari 015

Still in the packaging 3 x 430 Scuderias and a 458 Italia. The Scuderias are “Treasure Hunts“, difficult to find models or just a canny marketing device from Hot Wheels? These are the only Treasure Hunts, I have so far found.

One of my favourite Ferraris is the Dino. Here a model by Eaglemoss with poster.

Eaglemoss 1:43 Ferrari Dino 246 GTS (#7)

Eaglemoss 1:43 Ferrari Dino 246 GTS (#7)

I added a Corgi 250 LM Berlinetta in August 2014.

Porsche Carrera 6 and Ferrari Berlinetta 250 LM

Porsche Carrera 6 and Ferrari Berlinetta 250 LM

For 2015 and maybe many years after Ferrari has signed an exclusive deal with May Cheong (Maisto and Bburago). So there will be no new Hot Wheels or Matchbox Ferraris for a while, but maybe some interesting 1:64 Bburago FerrarisFerrari License Agreement

Some Chinese manufacturers maybe ignoring the exclusive license the two models of the 1967 Ferrari 265 GTB4 below are unbranded models made in China, currently for sale in the markets of Tbilisi.

P1570973

1967 Ferrari 265 GTB4

My collection is currently around 30 Ferraris.

P1420887

April 2016: 30 Ferraris

Two of my most visited posts relate to Ferraris: Eaglemoss Ferrari Collection and Bburago Ferrari

2 thoughts on “Italian Cars: Ferrari

  1. I now have two 1/64 scale Dino 206 Competizione’s in my relatively small collection, one is yellow and one is red. I was already familiar with the yellow version from books and photo’s, but I wasn’t familiar with the red. I’m chuffed to bits with these, I love anything that looks like a prototype or design study.

Leave a Reply

