American Cars: Buick and Cadillac

In my 1968 Ladybird Book of Motor Cars, the last two cars were a Buick Riviera and a Cadillac Eldorado. Large cars even by American standards. I have a Dinky Eldorado, I’d love a Corgi Riviera.

Ladybird Book of Motor Cars (1968)...page 50

Ladybird Book of Motor Cars (1968)…page 50

Dinky Matchbox Arra 008

Dinky Cadillac Eldorado

Buick is currently the oldest still-active American automotive make, and among the oldest automobile brands in the world, dating back to 1899.

I have seven Buicks: a Maisto Buick Bengal Concept, a Hot Wheels Buick GSX, a Hot Wheels 1971 Buick Riviera, a ’64 Riviera, a Corgi Juniors Buick Regal   and two Matchbox 1956 Buick Century Police cars. Maisto is not usually my preferred choice in the 1:64 scale but they do produce some interesting cars ignored by other manufacturers. The Buick Bengal is a concept car unveiled to the public at the 2001 Detroit Motor Show with the aim of rejuvenating the brand and appealing to younger customers.

p1510968

7 Buicks

Cadillac is currently the second oldest American automobile brand following fellow GM marque Buick. Cadillac was founded in 1902, I have a nice 1913 Cadillac from the Matchbox Yesteryear range. Cadillac was named after a French explorer who founded Detroit in 1701.

I have seven Cadillacs. In addition to the Eldorado I have a Matchbox 1955 Cadillac Fleetwood , a Hot Wheels Cadillac Cien, a Matchbox Cadillac One, a Matchbox ’69 Cadillac Sedan, a Matchbox Yesteryear 1913 Cadillac and a Matchbox 1963 Cadillac Hearse.

The Cadillac Cien is a mid-engined, rear wheeled drive sports concept unveiled at the 2002 Detroit Motor Show. It is also the only Cadillac available to players of Sony Playstation’s Gran Turismo 4.

p1510973

7 Cadillacs

I heard some toy dealers were reluctant to stock a hearse, there is a strong taboo around death in many countries. The same toy dealers, I imagine are happy to stock toy guns, tanks and toy weapons.

Matchbox 1963 Cadillac Hearse (scale 1:81)

Matchbox 1963 Cadillac Hearse (scale 1:81)

I like the Cadillac Hearse it reminds me of the Cadillac Ambulance I had as a kid, with its long sleek profile.

…and I still haven’t found what I’m looking for…

Buick Riviera

Corgi Buick Riviera

Leave a Reply

