Welly

Welly is a Chinese diecast manufacturer formed in 1979.

Welly 010

Welly: 10 models

Like Maisto, Welly produce diecasts in a range of scales. My collection has ten in the 1:60/1:64 scale, two in the 1:43 scale and two in the 1:34/1:39 scale.

At the 1:60 scale the cars are colourful and better representations of the original model than Maisto. They also compare well with Matchbox and Hot Wheels, although they retail here at 6 lari ($3.36) compared to just 4 lari ($2.24) for Hot Wheels and Matchbox. In 2016 the prices are reversed now Matchbox and Hot Wheels are over 6 lari and Welly 1:60 models are looking good value at 3.70lari.

Welly Porsche Boxster (yellow) v Hot Wheels Porsche Boxster (white)

Welly Porsche Boxster (yellow) v Hot Wheels Porsche Boxster (white)

Comparing two model Boxsters (Welly and Hot Wheels), the Welly model is slightly larger, the paintwork is of a similar quality, the Welly model has a black lined windscreen that includes sunblinds, the Hot Wheels model has a nice Porsche tampo along the side.

Matchbox Jaguar E-Type v Welly Jaguar XK Coupe

Matchbox Jaguar E-Type v Welly Jaguar XK Coupe

Comparing Welly and Matchbox Jaguars, the quality is similar, I prefer the Matchbox wheels, there is little to choose between the two.

Welly German Cabriolets: BMW Z3 Roadster 2.8, Mercedes SLK and Porsche Boxster

Welly German Cabriolets: BMW Z3 Roadster 2.8, Mercedes SLK and Porsche Boxster

Comparing Welly with Maisto at 1:60, Welly has more detail and is a better representation of the original car. Compare the Welly German Cabriolets above with the Maisto American Cabriolets below.

Maisto American Cabriolets: Pontiac Solstice and Buick Bengal Concept

Maisto American Cabriolets: Pontiac Solstice and Buick Bengal Concept

The cars come in boxes, not blister packs (which I prefer), usually with the car brand prominently displayed. I have also noticed they do come in blister packs, too and Welly Surprise Eggs.

P1430745

p1530979

Welly 1:60 Box and Blister Packs available

At the 1:34/1:39 scale like Maisto the models have pull back motors and the quality is similar. I have an Opel Astra GTC and a Ford Crown Victoria “Chicago Police” Car at this scale.

Welly Ford Crown Victoria

Welly Ford Crown Victoria “Chicago Police” and FSO Polonez “Policja”

Finding Polish classics (Polskie Modele Samochodów) at 1:43 by Welly was something of a surprise, I would think their appeal would be rather limited here in Georgia, where we don’t see any Polish cars on the road and they aren’t the stuff of dreams like Lamborghinis and Jaguars. The cars retail at 10 lari ($5.60). In addition to the Polonez, I also have a Syrena 105, a car I have never seen in real life.

SyrenaRecently I’ve been pleased to see some older models recreated by Welly hitting the Georgian market.

P1360921

Peugeot 403 Cabriolet

Porsche carrera RSR Welly

1973 Porsche 911 Carrera RS

p1530734

Porsche 964 Turbo (1:60) and Jaguar XK180 (1:34 approx)

14 thoughts on “Welly

  1. Wow. I don’t think I ever owned more than 40 or 50 matchbox sized cars. I think my youngest daughters have way more than I ever did. I must count how many they have and take a picture for you 🙂

    • It is only in the last four years that I ve accumulated my collection, I came to Georgia back in 2009 with maybe half a dozen diecasts…every summer I pick up quite a few models in England mostly at the Wigginton Boot Fair (near York)…but most of my models I found here in Tbilisi.

      • We’ve only been to York a couple of times since moving here and yet it is only about 30 miles away. My wife grew up around that area and really would like to go back for a proper days shopping trip into the town centre. Last time we went there it was mostly to the out of town retail parks.

  2. Hey there Jim!

    I do not like Welly diecasts in the 1:64 size. They break down easily. Sure, they look pretty but they’re not meant for toddlers to play with. Similar to RMZ City models my kid breaks the Welly models pretty fast. While he was 3-4 years old it was only Matchbox and Hot Wheels that did not fall apart 😀 (I wrote about it as well in an article called Matchbox vs Hot Wheels vs Majorette die casts ).

    Welly is definitely cool for collecting and I’ve even bought a few for my kid because I could not find other models of the real cars he wanted but I wouldn’t recommend them for children under 5.

    • Hi, most of my collection see little play wear, there are a few that my nieces and godson are allowed to play with, I notice too that the Chinese products of today (Maisto, Welly, Realtoy etc…) are not a strong as the British made diecasts of the sixties and seventies.

  3. Pingback: RMZ City | jimholroyd diecast collector

  4. I do like the look of that Welly Jaguar Series.

    Very nice indeed.

    I wonder how many Jaguar models that particular series included.

    The only Jaguar in my collection currently, is the Matchbox F-Type Coupe, in black.

  5. Thanks. The XK180 really looks good. Especially with that brown interior. Very nice indeed, I’ve made the Welly homepage a favourite now. And it is going to be great looking through their catalogue. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

