Jaguar E-Type: The most beautiful car in the World?

I was very pleased to find a Corgi Jaguar E-Type 2+2 at Drybridge Market today. It cost me just 22 lari ($12.74), which is cheaper than the DeAgostini E-type in my collection (30 lari = $17.37).

Jaguar E Type

Corgi Jaguar E-Type 2+2

 

The E-Type may have been the first supercar to enter my consciousness. In my Ladybird Book of Motor Cars (1968) it was the second fastest car (150mph/240km/h), only the Maserati Mistrale (155mph/ 248km/h) was faster and unlike the Maserati, I had seen a few E-types on the road.

Ladybird Book of Motor cars (1968). DeAgostini Jaguar E-Type and Kinsmart Ford Mustang.

Ladybird Book of Motor cars (1968). DeAgostini Jaguar E-Type and Kinsmart Ford Mustang.

The E-Type has a phallically long bonnet. The car was an icon of sixties motoring, the car ranked number one in the Daily Telegraph‘s list of the most beautiful cars in the world. For the American market the car was known as the Jaguar XK-E.

The Most Beautiful car in the World

Even Enzo Ferrari called it “The most beautiful car ever made.”

Another British Sports car of the time with similar performance was the Aston Martin DB4. The Jaguar was cheaper and less exclusive than the Aston (70 000 E-Types were produced compared to just 1 210 DB4s).

Jaguar XK140, Aston Martin DB4 and Jaguar E-Type (DeAgostini 1:43)

Jaguar XK140, Aston Martin DB4 and Jaguar E-Type (DeAgostini 1:43)

I now have three E-Types in my collection and wouldn’t say no to any future acquisitions.

037

Jaguar E Types : DeAgostini, Corgi and Matchbox

The Corgi model features an opening bonnet, doors, hatchback and tipping seats. I would particularly like the Matchbox model from the sixties. I’m sure I had one when I was a child.

Jaguar E Type

Matchbox Jaguar E-Type

Dinky also produced a version, although personally I prefer the Corgi model.

4 thoughts on “Jaguar E-Type: The most beautiful car in the World?

  1. Gorgeous photo of the E type at the top of the post 🙂

    The Ferrari 250GTO pips the E type to the post of most beautiful car in my mind but the Jag is a close second.

    I have a 1/18th Burago E type somewhere that needs some detailing work to hide the ugly cheap looking cream plastic used on the interior and engine bay etc. I will try to dig it out at some point and get a photo of it. Mine is a cabriolet though which I think is slightly prettier than the coupe.

  2. It was Enzo Ferrari who said the E-Type was “the most beautiful car in the world” according to the Wikipedia article on the Jaguar E-Type. Also the readers of the Daily Telegraph voted it the most beautiful car ahead of the Citroen DS. The 250GTO must also be a contender along with the Maserati Ghibli, Lamborghini Miura, Porsche 911 and Fiat Dino.
    Would your Land Rovers appreciate you drooling over other “girls”?
    I was surprised and delighted to find the Corgi E Type today in the fleamarket, at a very reasonable price.

    • “Would your Land Rovers appreciate you drooling over other “girls”?”

      Ah good point, I’d better keep quiet or they’ll be throwing tamtrums, the running one will stop running and the non running one will just leak some more oil onto the workshop floor…. 🙂

  3. Pingback: 2014 Highlights | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

