Scale Models: 1:32 scale

1:32 was once so common a scale for toy trains, autos, and soldiers that it was known as “standard size” in the industry. 1:32 is a common scale for agricultural vehicles manufactured by Siku and Britains. 1:32 was also the scale used for slot car racing, I had a lot of fun as a kid racing Scalextric cars around the track (I had a BMW 3.0 CSL, an Austin Healey and a six wheeled Tyrell-Ford), I don’t have any Scalextric now 😦 , but I do have around a dozen model cars in 1:32 scale.

019

In my collection I have more models of Mustangs, Corvettes and 911s than any others. Above an example of each in 1:32.

012

1:32 1970 Ford Mustang approx 15cm long (6 inches)

Kinsmart have a range of scales from 1:32 to 1:40, I think their intention is to have all there cars roughly the same size, so the smaller cars in real life are more likely to be scaled in 1:32 like the AC Cobra and Lotus Exige.

011

Kinsmart 1:32 … Lotus Exige R-GT, AC Shelby Cobra and Lamborghini Gallardo

Bburago have many models at 1:32. I know someone who likes this Capri:

1970 Ford Capri RS2600

1970 Ford Capri RS2600 (Bburago)

Bburago 1:32 Classic

1:32 selection. Citroen DS19, Peugeot 307, VW Beetle and 1967 VW Beetle

1:32 selection. Citroen DS19, Peugeot 307, VW Beetle and 1967 VW Beetle “Police”

1:32 doesn’t offer the same level of detail as 1:24, but it takes up less space. I know, just call me Captain Bleedin’ Obvious.

Chevrolet Corvettes. Maisto 1:24 scale and Sunnyside 1:32 scale.

Chevrolet Corvettes. Maisto 1:24 scale and Sunnyside 1:32 scale.

Last week, I picked up a few figures in 1:32 with the idea of possibly making some dioramas in the future or adding extra interest to my photos of model cars.

Some figures at 1:32 scale.

Some figures at 1:32 scale.

The rationalisation of hobby scales has been gradual and organic—largely driven by clubs lobbying industry, as well as tradition, and indirectly, consumer demand. 1:32 was a common scale for military vehicles when I was a child, but now they tend to be 1:35. As a child my friends and I used to line up 1:32 soldiers in two camps and then mow them down with diecast cars (in around 1:64 scale). Military vehicles are outside my interests these days, I prefer to collect model sports cars, a Lamborghini Miura holds more attraction for me than a T34 tank.

 

Leave a Reply

