Seven days: seven cars: am I becoming addicted to collecting diecasts?

7 April. So far this month I have added seven new models to my collection. I don’t feel that I am being particularly extravagant but in the past, I may have acquired just seven models in a month. Maybe like an addict my tolerance is building up so I need more frequent “hits”.

001

The month started out, no fooling, with three red cars.

hot wheels 003

’70 Toyota Celica

This Toyota Celica was on my wants list, I also bought a Porsche Panamera, which I gave to a friend who wants a real Panamera. The third red car was a Zaporozhets 968 by DeAgostini, 15 lari from Drybridge Market.

Zaporozhets 966 and 968A

Zaporozhets 966 and 968A

April 2nd, I found a Matchbox Porsche 911 GT3 RS in Smart, a model difficult to resist.

Porsche 911 GT3

Porsche 911 GT3

I now have three of the Matchbox version (as well as 3 Hot Wheels and 3 Kinsmart versions).

005

Three variants of the Matchbox Porsche 911 GT3RS

On 3 April, I hadn’t been looking for diecasts but my wife came across a few in a secondhand shop in the block we live in. She is very tolerant of my collecting. I went to have a look and came away with a Hot Wheels Aston V8 Vantage.

The fourth of April passed without any diecast purchases. But then on the fifth in Goodwill (here in Tbilisi, Goodwill is an upmarket supermarket), I couldn’t resist a tempting three pack.

Hot Wheels Three Pack

Hot Wheels Three Pack

The ’65 Mustang Fastback, was the car that sold me on the pack, but I love the Acura NSX and the Chevrolet Chevelle SS is a bonus.

Acura NSX

Acura NSX

Ford Mustang '65 Fastback

Ford Mustang ’65 Fastback

So here I am on the seventh, seven days into the month with seven cars added to the collection is this a habit getting out of control?

5 Hot Wheels 1 Matchbox 1 DeAgostini

2 US Muscle Cars, 2 JDM cars in racing livery, 1 Porsche, 1 Aston and a Soviet Zaporozhets

Will I finish April with 30 new models?

2 thoughts on “Seven days: seven cars: am I becoming addicted to collecting diecasts?

  1. Pingback: Trucks | jimholroyd diecast collector

  2. Pingback: Collecting: addiction, obsession? | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

