Trucks

Matchbox trucks of the late sixties

Matchbox trucks of the late sixties

I don’t really collect trucks but I have a few that have crept into my collection. As a child I played with trucks on imaginary construction sites, farms and the roads of my bedroom. As an adult diecast collector, my focus is more on cars especially cars of the sixties and seventies, I’m no longer playing on imaginary construction sites, the cars are to be admired, photographed and put on the shelf.

Following on from my last post seven days, seven diecasts on the 8th April, I bought an eighth vehicle this Hot Wheels Repo-Duty. For towing away cars not yet paid for….

Repo Duty and Iso Grifo

Repo Duty and Iso Grifo

I don’t buy many brand new trucks, I get old Matchbox trucks for the nostalgia value, with new trucks I do have a weakness for cement mixers and fire engines.

Cement Mixers

Cement Mixers

Here, a selection of cement mixers from Matchbox, Siku and Majorette. The one I’d really like to find is the Matchbox Foden Cement Mixer from the late sixties.

Cement Mixer

Cement Mixer

A selection of Matchbox Fire Trucks

A selection of Matchbox Fire Trucks

Matchbox Trucks

Matchbox Trucks

My only Matchbox King Size vehicle is a broken Guy Car Transporter, I’d really like to get the later Daf Car Transporter, which I had as a child. I like displaying my cars on Car Transporters.

I started blogging from reading a book about a London Ambulance Driver, entitled Blood, Sweat and Tea. This got me looking for ambulances, I haven’t found a decent London Ambulance, yet. But I found a few others.

Blood, Sweat and Tea with some diecast ambulances.

Blood, Sweat and Tea with some diecast ambulances.

Trucks come in many different forms depending on the task they are required to perform.

trucks on the window sill

trucks on the window sill

The Matchbox range had probably more trucks than cars and still does.

A page from the 1969 Matchbox Catalogue...just one car and fie trucks.

A page from the 1969 Matchbox Catalogue…just one car and five trucks.

Interesting though trucks are, I will continue however to be primarily interested in collecting cars.

Siku 5 pack

Siku 5 pack

Just picked up this Siku 5 pack of construction and refuse collection vehicles from the market for just 12 lari (usually around 30 lari in the shops). On closer inspection, I thought it might be fake the quality of the cement mixer is not as good as the one I already have, but looking at Siku‘s catalogue online, it seems genuine.

3 thoughts on “Trucks

  1. It is curious how things have changed. My kids die cast collections are mostly cars and 4×4’s, there doesn’t seem to be as many trucks about these days in matchbox size. They have a few larger trucks and tractors though. i don’t think I had that many trucks when I was a kid either but that was because I had lots of Dinky sized construction vehicles or Britains sized tractors and Land Rovers instead which were very popular in the 70’s when I was a kid.

    • I think it depends which brands are available, Hot Wheels and Maisto have few trucks. Matchbox, and Siku have a lot of truck. Siku also has farming equipment. Here Siku and Matchbox are more difficult to find than Hot Wheels.

      • We tend to buy our kids a matchbox sized car whenever we go to the larger supermarkets to do the food shopping. I guess the supermarkets tend to only stock cars. I’ve seen Siku available over here in a few toy shops but not in the supermarkets.My girls have a couple of Siku tractors.They went through a stage of collecting farm equipment.

Leave a Reply

