Film and TV Tie ins

Corgi Toys‘ most successful period was between 1965 and 1968, when over 60 million toys were sold, this coincided with the introduction into the range of film and TV related vehicles. Two of them the Batmobile and James Bond’s Aston Martin were the best selling Corgi cars ever.

I am not a great collector of TV and film related cars but I have added a few to my collection. James Bond has a lot of nice cars to play with. In my collection I have three: the Sunbeam Alpine from Dr No, the Aston Martin from Thunderball and Aki’s Toyota 2000GT from You Only Live Twice. These are all Chinese made models from TicToc and Universal Hobbies, I’d love the Corgi Aston, if I ever find it at a sensible price.

007 vehicles

007 vehicles

Dinky only obtained the rights for the Gerry Anderson TV Series. I remember on my first day of school (September 1969) playing with the Dinky Captain Scarlet  Maximum Security Vehicle. I don’t remember anything else from my first day at school, neither the teachers nor the separation from my mother.

Dinky Catalogue 1974 (showing Gerry Anderson related vehicles)

Dinky Catalogue 1974 (showing Gerry Anderson related vehicles)

Hot Wheels have put out a number of TV related vehicles recently, including several different Batmobiles, the only one that interests me is the 1968 one from the rather camp TV series, and I have yet to find that one, but I ve seen lots of the more modern ones from the films in the shops.

Hot Wheels Film and TV tie in vehicles

Hot Wheels Film and TV tie in vehicles

I have bought a few which for me are full of childhood nostalgia: Scooby Doo’s Mystery Machine, I used to love watching that cartoon, Herbie from The Love Bug (1968), one of the first films I ever saw at the cinema and a great influence on my interest in cars and strangely Star Trek’s USS Enterprise, which seems an unusual choice for a Hot Wheels having no wheels and being far from the rough 1:64 scale of the rest of the range.

The Mystery Machine from Scooby Doo

The Mystery Machine from Scooby Doo

Herbie from The Love Bug

Herbie from The Love Bug

015

Star Trek’s USS Enterprise (Battle Damaged)

Or for a retro futuristic vibe, there is the Jetsons Capsule Car.

The Jetsons Capsule Car

The Jetsons Capsule Car

p1560076

Vehicles inspired by Hanna-Barbera Cartoons

From more recent films, I have two Toyotas: the Supra driven by Paul Walker in Fast and Furious and the Toyota AE 86 used to deliver tofu by Itsuki Takeuchi  in Initial D.

Toyota Supra and AE 86 Corolla

Toyota Supra and AE 86 Corolla

The only Corgi TV tie in car I have is the Audi Quattro driven by Gene Hunt in the TV Series Ashes to Ashes.

Gene Hunt's Audi Quattro

Gene Hunt’s Audi Quattro

I also have a small Inspector Morse Jaguar Mark 2.

Inspector Morse's Jaguar Mk 2

Inspector Morse’s Jaguar Mk 2

I’m looking out for a few other film and TV related vehicles: Captain Scarlet’s Spectrum Maximum Security Vehicle, the Saint’s Volvo, the Batmobile from the TV series and Starsky and Hutch’s Ford Torino.

Update: Found the TV Series Batmobile 🙂

TV Series Batmobile

TV Series Batmobile

Keep watching this blog… 😉

.

3 thoughts on “Film and TV Tie ins

  1. I used to have several of the thunderbird vehicles as well as the James bond Astin Martin.

    I do like that white 2000GT model, it looks accurate and detailed.

Leave a Reply

