Ambulances

Having looked at fire and police vehicles, I guess I should also look at ambulances the third arm of the emergency services. I don’t have a great selection of ambulances in my collection, just five.

DeAgostini GAZ 24 Ambulance

DeAgostini GAZ 24 Ambulance

I have yet to remove the DeAgostini 1:43 GAZ Volga Ambulance from its packaging.

P1130736

Model Ambulances

I started blogging after reading a book “Blood, Sweat and Tea” about a London Ambulance Driver who kept a blog.

Blood, Sweat and Tea

"Blood, Sweat and Tea" by Tom Reynolds

“Blood, Sweat and Tea” by Tom Reynolds

I would like a model of a London Ambulance, maybe a Renault Master or Fiat Ducato. After reading the book I looked for some ambulances but only found a German Mercedes Krankenwagen by Siku and a Matchbox Ford F-350 Ambulance. I guess I need to be patient (sorry, couldn’t resist the pun).

Siku Mercedes Krankenwagen and Matchbox Ford F-350 Ambulance

Siku Mercedes Krankenwagen and Matchbox Ford F-350 Ambulance

18 March 2015, I found a Matchbox Renault Master but slightly disappointed, the body is plastic not diecast and looks rather a cheap model.

Renault Master Ambulance Matchbox

Renault Master Ambulance Matchbox

The Matchbox Collector’s Catalogue of 1969 had two Mercedes Benz “Binz” Ambulances, with plastic patients, one in the 1-75 range and one in the King Size range.

P1130740

Matchbox Catalogue 1969

Matchbox Catalogue 1969

Matchbox Catalogue 1969

8/1 is just over 40 new pence.

I found a Corgi Juniors Mercedes Benz “Binz” Ambulance at Drybridge Market, but unfortunately a previous owner had painted it.

Corgi Juniors Mercedes Benz 2200 "Binz" Ambulance

Corgi Juniors Mercedes Benz 2200 “Binz” Ambulance

Matchbox also had a Cadillac Ambulance in their 1-75 range (1969), I had it but sold it before coming to Tbilisi. I regret selling it now.

Dinky had a couple of ambulances in their 1974 catalogue, a Range Rover (#268) and a Cadillac Superior (#288).

Dinky Catalogue 1974

Dinky Catalogue 1974

I would like to find an ambulance like the ones I see on the roads.

Fiat Ambulance in Tbilisi

Fiat Ambulance in Tbilisi

One thought on “Ambulances

  1. Pingback: Police Cars of the World | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

