Monthly Acquisitions : June 2014

After the relative restraint of May, June saw the model budget top 100 lari again. It has been another interesting month, I haven’t left Tbilisi but found some interesting additions to my collection here,

Majorette Renault 4 and Hot Wheels Mustang Stocker

Majorette Renault 4 and Hot Wheels Mustang Stocker

This pair were just two lari each, from Vagzlis Basroba, well playworn, but interesting historically. The Hot Wheels Mustang has the Redline Wheels and was made in Hong Kong, the Majorette Renault was “Made in France”, I thought it was a post van at first.

Hot Wheels haul

Hot Wheels haul

The other 10 Hot Wheels models, I bought new. The Datsun 620 Pick Up and Nissan Skyline H/T 2000GT-X were the only two from my Hot Wheels Wants’ List. The Lamborghini Senso Elemento and 2012 Ford Fiesta are both attractive models..

Japanese cars and truck

Japanese cars and truck

I bought my first Tomica this month a Toyota Dyna Vacuum Pump truck, I’m impressed with the detail and like the fact it comes with a box not a blister pack. The other Japanese Vehicles are all Hot Wheels: Datsun 620 Pick Up (I’d been looking for this since I first saw a pic), Nissan Skyline H/T 2000GT-X.…any old Skylines are a must have…and a Toyota Supra in “Falken” colours.

American Muscle Cars

American Muscle Cars

I picked up Muscle Cars from the US Big Three : ’69 Dodge Charger Daytona, ’67 Ford Mustang Coupe and a ’55 Chevy Bel Air “Gasser”. 

Matchbox Haul

Matchbox Haul

 Matchbox will probably always be my favourite brand, but this year’s offerings don’t excite me much. I bought four this month: Aston DBS Volante, Buick Century Police Car, London Bus and Ferrari F50.

Majorette Renault 4L van and Lion Cage Trailer

Majorette Renault 4L van and Lion Cage Trailer

A pair of Majorettes, unfortunately the Renault doesn’t have a tow hook.

Alfa, Ferrari, Porsche and Toyota

Alfa, Ferrari, Porsche and Toyota

The first car I bought this month was the black Kinsmart Porsche 911 GT3R, which completed my set of  four Kinsmart Porsche 911 GT3Rs. The Modellino 1:43 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint Veloce (1956) was by far the most expensive acquisition this month (28 lari=$15.84), but it is a very attractive looking car. The Ferrari 599 with workshop accessories by Bburago was a gift from one of my pupils (much preferable to an apple for teacher).

Kinsmart Porsche 911 GT3Rs

The set of Kinsmart Porsche 911 GT3Rs

HW Pursuit

Majorette Renault 4 and Hot Wheels Mustang Stocker

I usually prefer cars based on real cars but these two (HW Pursuit and Carbonator) slipped through the net. The “FIRE” tampo and red paintwork attracted me to the HW Pursuit, although I would be happier if it didnt have a jet engine (only Chrysler Turbines should have jet engines). Carbonator is a Hot Wheels car that doubles as a bottle and can opener…so now even the kitchen is not safe from my models.

Carbonator in the kitchen

Carbonator in the kitchen

The final tally  is 25 vehicles for the month at a cost of 123 lari 60 tetri ($69.93).

11 Hot wheels, 6 Matchbox, 3 Majorette, 2 Tomica1 Kinsmart, 1 Modellino, 1 Bburago

On the last day of the month I ventured to Drybridge Market and bought these:

Drybridge Finds 30 June 2014

Drybridge Finds 30 June 2014

A Matchbox Jeep CJ6 and Caravan (both introduced to the range in 1977) both “Made in England

A Majorette Toyota Lite Ace with opening rear hatch “Made in France” and finally a Tomica Toyota CrownMade in Japan” which had been tastefully customised by a previous owner.

Toyota Crown

Toyota Crown

It looks as though it maybe in the livery of the Japanese Military Police. It cost me just 5 lari ($2,83) I saw a Tomica Toyota Crown several months ago at Drybridge, where the seller was asking 35  lari and it wasn’t as nice as this one. Sometimes it pays to wait.

 

3 thoughts on “Monthly Acquisitions : June 2014

    • The blue Alfa was four times as expensive as the second most expensive model this month at 28 lari (£9.30), (the Kinsmart Porsche was 7 lari) but looks great. I was pleased to find the old Hot Wheels Mustang for 2 lari, very playworn but historic…with its redline wheels…

  1. Pingback: Italian Cars: Alfa Romeo | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

