Monthly Acquisitions: July 2014

Once again I take a risk writing before the end of the month. Two more days of temptation lie ahead. This month I managed to keep within my 100 lari ($57.10) nominative budget. I added 14 new cars and some Hot Wheels track totalling 88 lari 90 tetri.($50.76).

Update: 30 July two more cars added (see below) total monthly expenditure 92.90 lari ($53.52).

July 2014 acquisitions

July 2014 acquisitions

As you can see in the picture the vast majority were Hot Wheels. I discovered a new toyshop in Tbilisi Mall, XS Toys which is amply stocked with Hot Wheels.

Hot Wheels window display at XS Toys in Tbilisi Mall

Hot Wheels window display at XS Toys in Tbilisi Mall

The month began with a Matchbox model (the only one of the month) a Lotus Elise found loose in Vagzlis Basroba for just 2 lari.($1.14)

Matchbox Lotus Elise, Top Speed Bugatti Veyron and Hot Wheels Mercury Cougar Eliminator

Matchbox Lotus Elise, Top Speed Bugatti Veyron and Hot Wheels Mercury Cougar Eliminator

I continue to search out classic Japanese cars in Hot Wheels and found three this month. A Honda Civic EF in teal (I already have one in red), a second Datsun 620 Pick-Up and a second Nissan Skyline H/T 2000 GT-X. I am still looking for a Datsun 510.

Honda Civic EF and Datsun 620 Pick-Up

Honda Civic EF and Datsun 620 Pick-Up

Nissan Skyline H/T 2000 GT-X

Nissan Skyline H/T 2000 GT-X

Three more Chevys, too. I know one of my followers is crazy about the ’64 Chevy Nova Wagon, I have two now but no Super Treasure Hunt.

Chevy Silverado Pick-Up, '64 Chevy Nova Wagon and Chevy V8 Custom Vega

Hot Wheels Chevy Silverado Pick-Up, ’64 Chevy Nova Wagon and Chevy V8 Custom Vega

The most expensive item this month was a Hot Wheels loop set (40 lari : $22.84) which came with a car called “Scoopa di Fuego“.

Loop set with Scoppa di Fuego and Avant Garde

Loop set with Scoopa di Fuego and Avant Garde

Scoopa di Fuego and Avant Garde are both products of the imagination of Hot Wheels Designers….Scoopa di Fuego is designed by Mayra Peralta and shows an Italian influence, Avant Garde is designed by Jun Imai with a very French influence.

I found a second Ford Fiesta regular treasure hunt and could have picked up a couple more, I would really like to find a Super Treasure Hunt now.

P1140072

Hot Wheels 2012 Ford Fiesta. The flame logo after the Ford Logo shows it to be a regular treasure hunt.

One car that didn’t cost me a penny was a gift from my student Rezo. A Citroen 2CV from Welly.

Welly Citroen 2CV from Rezo

Welly Citroen 2CV from Rezo

Super a shop which used to stock Hot Wheels now just has cheaper Chinese diecasts, I got one a model of a Bugatti Veyron by Top Speed it cost 2 lari 80 ($1.60) the quality is not as good as Hot Wheels, some of the other models in the range were barely recognisable.

Bugatti Veyron

Bugatti Veyron

One novelty for the month was the first model of a Korean car in my collection. I had seen the Hyundai Genesis in the colours of the South Korea football team but it didn’t appeal to me. Then I found a model of the Hyundai Tiberon for just 2  lari in Drybridge Market. I found it with a Soviet Afghanistan Campaign Medal which cost me ten times as much (20 lari).

Hot Wheels Hyundai Tiburon and Soviet Afghanistan Campaign Medal

Hot Wheels Hyundai Tiburon and Soviet Afghanistan Campaign Medal

An unplanned trip to Drybridge Market on the 30th July turned up two more cars (after publishing this post originally on 29th July) but at just 4 lari for the pair I’m still within the nominative budget. A Hot Wheels 25th Anniversary Chevy Nomad (like one of the early redlines) in spectraflame magenta and a Welly Audi Quattro with Red Cross decals.

Hot Wheels Chevy Nomad and Welly Audi Quattro

Hot Wheels Chevy Nomad and Welly Audi Quattro

That is it for this month. I have already seen a highly tempting Majorette triple pack (New VW Beetle , Porsche 911 and BMW Z4) so I expect my collection to continue to grow next month.

Leave a Reply

