A Good Day at the Market

I have written before about Drybridge Market my favourite hunting ground for older diecasts. Today, when I visited the market I was pleasantly surprised to see an old Corgi Ferrari Berlinetta 250 Le Mans,  from the mid-late sixties, which had been on my wants’ list for ages displayed with a Norev Renault 20TS and a few Matchbox Yesteryear Models in varying conditions.

In the past I would have probably asked the price of the Ferrari immediately, but I am learning it is best not to be too focused on what you are most interested in. So first I asked the price of the white Jaguar SS, I have this model in Yesteryear in green (it cost me 25 lari ($14.47) from Drybridge market in February 2013). The price offered on this Jaguar was 60 lari ($34.74), far too high, so I was imagining the Ferrari might be priced even higher. I asked the prices of another couple of Yesteryears and then the Ferrari. To my surprise the seller was only asking 25 lari ($14.47) for the Ferrari (I would have happily paid 40 lari ($23.16)). I asked if 20 lari ($11.58) would be possible and the seller thought a moment and said “okay!” He further suggested I could buy the Jaguar for 50 lari ($28.95), I agreed it was a beautiful car but I smiled and declined.

Drybridge Market

Drybridge Market

Porsche Carrera 6 and Ferrari Berlinetta 250 LM

Porsche Carrera 6 and Ferrari Berlinetta 250 LM

The Ferrari goes well with the Porsche Carrera 6, which I found at Drybridge Market back in February 2013. The two cars share a page of the 1969 Corgi Catalogue with a Ford Mustang, it would be great if I could find that, too.

1969 Corgi Catalogue Page 12

1969 Corgi Catalogue Page 12

I also picked up two playworn Italian made Bburagos at the market a Peugeot 405 Rally (5 lari ($2.89)) and a Renault Clio (2 lari ($1.16) with missing interior. A good day.

Drybridge haul: Renault Clio (Bburago), Peugeot 405 (Bburago) and Ferrari Berlinetta 250LM (Corgi)

Drybridge haul: Renault Clio (Bburago), Peugeot 405 (Bburago) and Ferrari Berlinetta 250LM (Corgi)

Having spent 83 lari 50 tetri this month I am rather close to my nominative budget limit of 100 lari and I still have 20 days left in August…it will be difficult to stay under the limit particularly if I should wander to Drybridge Market again.

6 thoughts on “A Good Day at the Market

    • Thanks 🙂

      I have the Jag in British Racing Green. There are plenty of Yesteryear about and they are usually in good condition because they aren’t played with in the same way as the usual Corgi and Matchbox cars. I only have three Yesteryear Models, I prefer sports cars of the sixties and seventies.

  1. Pingback: Collecting: addiction, obsession? | jimholroyd diecast collector

  2. Pingback: Monthly Acquisitions : August 2014 | jimholroyd diecast collector

  3. Pingback: Drybridge Market | jimholroyd diecast collector

  4. Pingback: Highlights 2014: Part Two (July to December 2014) | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

