Majorette Toyota RAV 4 “Coastguard” #230 Scale 1:50

Toyota RAV 4 on the beach at Kobuleti.

Toyota RAV 4 on the beach at Kobuleti.

I have just spent two weeks in Kobuleti, a beach resort in the West of Georgia, where the only diecast car I saw was this Majorette Toyota RAV 4, which I brought with me. In the shops there were some plastic cars made in China of very poor quality but no diecasts…not even the crappy Chinese diecasts.

The selection of model cars in Kobuleti leaves much to be desired.

The selection of model cars in Kobuleti leaves much to be desired.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Majorette Toyota RAV 4 “Coastguard” #230 Scale 1:50

  1. I managed to have a good look at a couple of interesting Majorettes today. One, a yellow gull-wing Mercedes (the newer one, with working doors) and the other, a blue Porsche 911 (GT3, I think). I didn’t buy them because I couldn’t afford them at the time, but the thing that struck me the most about them was the thickness of the paint application, it just seemed a little too much, almost like a thick impasto! They basically looked like re-paints, whilst still new and in the box. It’s a shame because the castings are really quite nice and the scale is a good 1/64-ish. I’ll have to have another look at them and think about it some more.

    • I have a lot of 911s. It is a good model for comparing different ways diecast brands because most will have a 911 somewhere in the line up. I find Matchbox and Hot Wheels have always had better paint than Majorette.

Leave a Reply

