Package from Estonia

1927 Panhard 35CV

1927 Panhard 35CV made by Siharuli in Tbilisi

I had 4 Panhards made by Sikharuli in Tbilisi, a Facebook friend in Estonia was interested in these. So as an experiment I sent him one. The postal service here in Georgia is rather basic and unpredictable. The cost of postage was higher than the cost of the car.

1927 Panhard 35 CV (model made in Tbilisi)

1927 Panhard 35 CV (model made in Tbilisi)

Viljar told me he’d send something in return. I expected a model car or two, he knew I liked Matchbox. I didn’t expect a package containing 13 models (9 of which were Matchbox!)

from Estonia

from Estonia

I had to collect the package from a post office a few kilometres from where I live (they don’t deliver here). I was with my granddaughter Ana and my wife, Khato. Ana wanted to know what was in the packet so we opened it on a nearby bench.

Ana and the package contents

Ana and the package contents

Each little packet contained a nice surprise.

Matchbox Maserati Bora

Matchbox Maserati Bora

Highlight for me was a Matchbox Maserati Bora, a little chipped and missing its number but otherwise in good condition, I would have happily paid 20 lari if I had found this at Drybridge Market. As a child my dream car was a Maserati Bora and the Matchbox model had been in my wants’ list a long time. Another gem was an AMX Javelin (Matchbox). I did pay 40 lari at Drybridge Market for three early Matchbox Superfast Cars of which the Javelin was one, so now I have two.

Matchbox AMX Javelins

Matchbox AMX Javelins

Some of the cars were rather playworn, like the Lone Star Jaguar and Siku Toyota 2000GT, but they are still great. My father’s dream car was a Jaguar Mark X, he never got one, but my mother did give him a Corgi one for his birthday one year.

Rather playworn, Lone Star Jaguar Mark X, Siku Toyota 2000GT and two Matchbox Vauxhall Guildsmans

Rather playworn, Lone Star Jaguar Mark X, Siku Toyota 2000GT and two Matchbox Vauxhall Guildsmans

French Cars are always welcome in my collection and it was great to see two Renaults: a Majorette “La Poste” Renault Kangoo and a Matchbox Renault 5GTL “Le Car”.

Renault Kangoo "La Poste"(Majorette) and Renault 5  Le car (Matchbox)

Renault Kangoo “La Poste”(Majorette) and Renault 5 Le car (Matchbox)

There were a couple of models I’m not sure about. A Matchbox King Size Trailer without the speedboat, a Matchbox Crane Truck without the jib and a Matchbox VW Golf without the surfboards.

Matchbox Trailer, Golf and Crane truck

Matchbox Trailer, Golf and Crane truck

There was also a nice Chinese model of a Chevrolet Camaro and a Matchbox International Mercedes 280GE “Mountain Rescue”.

 It was like being a kid at Christmas, with so many surprises.
Tänan teid, Viljar.

4 thoughts on “Package from Estonia

  1. Pingback: Monthly Acquisitions: September 2014 | jimholroyd diecast collector

  2. Do you have more Panhards? I would like to buy some from you or to give you something in return, as an exchange.
    I am interested also in all models made by Sikharuli, especially the plastic ones: Simca Oceane, Renault Dauphine, Panhard 24 BT, Panhard 24 CT, Ford Mustang Boss, etc.
    I am waiting for a reply from you on my email address: nuculetul@yahoo.com

  3. Pingback: Second Package from Estonia | jimholroyd diecast collector

  4. Pingback: Packet from USA | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

