Porsche 911

I have 36 Porsches in my collection, mostly 911s.

Porsche 911 GT3RS

Porsche 911 GT3RS : Matchbox, Hot Wheels and Kinsmart

Like me the Porsche 911 was born in 1964, which makes us both 50, it has had many modifications since, but the iconic shape remains the same.

35 Porsches

35 Porsches

Such an incredible car is popular with kids and adult collectors alike, so many diecast manufacturers have made versions of the 911 and this makes it easier to compare different brands.

7 Porsche 911s made by different diecast brands.

7 Porsche 911s made by different diecast brands.

In the picture above, at the front we have a maroon 911 Carrera S made by Siku in China. This is the most recent addition to my collection, I also have the casting in green. The Siku model is 1:55 scale and has opening doors and rubber tyres, it cost 9.90 lari, which is twice the price of Hot Wheels or Matchbox. The orange 911 is a GT3R made by Matchbox (1:60 scale), I also have this casting in blue and white (see top picture). The silver 911 is a Majorette it is slightly smaller than the Matchbox model. Next to the Majorette is a black Hot Wheels GT3RS with an orange stripe, again slightly smaller than the Matchbox, possibly true to the nominative 1:64 scale of Hot Wheels models. Then there is a pink Speed Wheels model, made by Xin Yu Toys in China, it is cheaper and lighter than the other models. At the back on the left is a black Bburago 1:43 model, made in Italy and to the right a nicely detailed Kinsmart model at 1:36.

Hot Wheels Porsche 911 GT3RS

Hot Wheels Porsche 911 GT3RS

Porsche 911 (Bburago)

Porsche 911 (Bburago) 1:43 scale

The 911 GT3RS is my favourite Kinsmart casting, I started with the white version with red details, then proceeded to get the other three versions, too.

Kinsmart Porsche 911 GT3RS

Kinsmart Porsche 911 GT3RS (all four colour variants)

I thought there were only four colour variants, then I found a matt green 911 GT3RS (maybe there will be other colours too). I now have a Police variant, too.

Kinsmart Porsche 911GT3RS (green)

Kinsmart Porsche 911GT3RS (green)

Porsche 911 Emergency vehicles: Fire and Police

Porsche 911 Emergency vehicles: Fire and Police

If I doodle a car it is usually a 911, I made a cartoon strip once where a fox had a 911 Carrera. I wish I still had those drawings.

Porsche 911 Doodle

Porsche 911 Doodle

I have some Cabriolets too, but the hard topped sports car is my favourite.

Porsche 911 Cabriolets

911 Cabriolets Siku (centre) , Matchbox (left and right)

I don’t have any front engined Porsches, it doesn’t seem right somehow, and I think the Cayenne is ugly. Other Porsches: VW Porsche 914, Carrera GT, Boxster, 910, Carrera 6, 356 and Cayman S:

Other Porsches

Other Porsches

Hard top Porsche 911.... can you tell I like it?

Hard top Porsche 911…. can you tell I like it? 21 models.

I haven’t finished collecting Porsche 911s, there are still I’m looking out for a Siku 911 Targa (made in West Germany), a Matchbox Porsche Turbo (MB3) with opening doors, produced from 1978 to 1993 and any other interesting 911s particularly earlier models.

Siku Porsche 911 Carrera S

Siku Porsche 911 Carrera S

One thought on “Porsche 911

  1. Pingback: Porsche 911 Track Day | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

