Italian Cars: Maserati

p1530936Maserati:  Gran Turismo (Bburago), 4CLT Racer(Matchbox), MC12 (Bburago), Mistrale x 3 (Soviet made), Bora (Made in China),Indy (DeAgostini), Gran Turismo, Merak SS (Summer) and Bora (Matchbox)

Maserati is one of my favourite Car Makes,unfortunately they are not served as well by diecast manufacturers as Lamborghini, Ferrari or Porsche. I have eleven models in my collection (compared to 55 Porsches).

The Maserati tagline is “Luxury, sports and style cast in exclusive cars“. As a teen my dream car was a Maserati Bora, a plush supercar, more civilised and practical than a car like the Lamborghini Countach (it even had a full-size boot  in the front). The Bora was a mid engined two-seat sports car powered by a V8 engine and produced from 1971 to 1978, it had a top speed of 171 miles per hour (275 km/h). The closest I got was a Matchbox model, since replenished in my collection thanks to a friend in Estonia, sending me one.

Matchbox Maserati Bora

Matchbox Maserati Bora

3 November 2016: Passing a kiosk in Abashidze Street, Vake, a location I hadn’t been aware of before, I saw to my surprise some Made in China models, amongst which were clearly not one but two Boras: one blue and one yellow. Had they been any other model, I might have ignored them, as the quality isn’t great but being a Bora I had to have one, I chose blue because I couldn’t remember the Georgian for “yellow” (ყვითელი… hviteli).

I have three Mistrales made in USSR (1:43 scale), one plastic and two diecast.

P1430763

Hot Wheels made a Mistrale, too but only in 1969 after which it was unfortunately discontinued from the line.

Maserati

Maserati Mistral (Hot Wheels)

The Maserati MC12 is a true race car, built on the chassis of the Ferrari Enzo .

Bburago Maserati MC12

Bburago Maserati MC12 (1:43 scale)

It would be nice to find some models of sixties and seventies Maseratis like the Khamsin, Kyalami, Merak and Ghibli.

Leave a Reply

