Motorbikes

Motorbikes for me are a little like table tennis. Cars are like football. I love playing table tennis and riding motorbikes but I prefer to watch or look at cars or football. Maisto have a wide selection of model motorbikes, Hot Wheels have maybe half a dozen bikes in their range of 250 models in the mainline series, Matchbox have had a few motorcycles in their range, too. I haven’t had any motorbikes in my collection, until now. Out of curiosity I bought a Hot Wheels Harley-Davidson Fat Boy, I’m not a particular fan of Harley Davidson, I prefer faster Japanese or Italian Motorbikes (Yamaha, Kawasaki or Ducati).

The packaging art has a rider but the bike doesn’t. Motorbikes are inherently unstable at rest. Matchbox put out a few Motorcycle combinations (motorbike and sidecar) in the sixties, the third wheel balancing the model without the need for a stand. My Harley-Davidson doesn’t have a stand but it has a very fat back tyre so it can stand unassisted.

Very wide rear tyre.

Very wide rear tyre.

The scale seems larger than 1:64, it looks out of scale next to a regular Hot Wheels Car.

Harley-Davidson Fat Boy and '71 Datsun 510 Bluebird Wagon

Harley-Davidson Fat Boy and ’71 Datsun 510 Bluebird Wagon

February 26 2015: I get a BMW K 1300 R to go with the Harley. Like the Harley, the BMW has a fat back wheel so can stand unassisted.

BMW K 1300 R and Harley -Davidson Fat Boy

BMW K 1300 R and Harley -Davidson Fat Boy

14 October 2016: a third motorbike is added a Honda Monkey Z50 by Hot Wheels.

p1530073

3 Motorcycles from Hot Wheels: Honda Monkey Z50, BMW K1300R and Harley Davidson Fat Boy

In the 1969 Matchbox catalogue there was a Honda Motorcycle and trailer, the scale was 1:41 the largest in the 1-75 range at the time.

Matchbox Catalogue showing Honda Motorbike and Trailer

Matchbox Catalogue showing Honda Motorbike and Trailer

Hot Wheels have five motorcycles in their range, usually 3 licensed models and a couple of fantasy bikes. I have now added a Ducati 1199 Panigale. The BMW R1200 RT-8 Police Motorcycle, a Matchbox model.
So now I have five.

8 thoughts on “Motorbikes

  1. Pingback: Motorbikes | jimholroyd365

  2. I’m discovering something new everyday on this blog. It’s incredible stuff.

    I feel pretty much the same as you re: Motorbikes, except I think I prefer the English bikes, Norton, Triumph and AJS and that classic look in general. But I don’t have a single diecast bike in my collection. I am going to have to try and track down that BMW K 1300 R though, it does look great.

    • Glad you are enjoying the blog. Matchbox did have some cool Motorcycle combos in the sixties… Triumph T110, Harley Davidson and a Lambretta TV 175. I don’t have any, I saw the Harley in an antique shop but it was beyond my budget.

Leave a Reply

