Christmas Presents to Self

25th December: Happy Christmas!

Hot Wheels Christmas Tree. This picture isn't mine, if it is yours or you know, who took it, I'd be more than happy to credit you/them.

Hot Wheels Christmas Tree. This picture isn’t mine, if it is yours or you know, who took it, I’d be more than happy to credit you/them.

Here in Tbilisi, 25th December is a normal working day. Christmas is celebrated on the night of 6th/7th January with an all night vigil in church.

After working in the morning, I made a detour to one of the local markets, Vagzlis Basroba, and bought myself some small Christmas presents.

Bought on 25 December: 2 AC Shelby Cobras and a Hummer H2.

Bought on 25 December: 2 AC Shelby Cobras and a Hummer H2.

At the beginning of the month I had given away a yellow Shelby Cobra 427, just like this one, to a student who liked the Taylor Swift Video, “Blank Space” which features an AC Shelby Cobra (metallic grey). Then, I realised belatedly that the Cobra had been a present to me from my brother-in-law, and I’m not sure regifting is a good thing. In the middle of the month I bought a blue Kinsmart Cobra and today I bought the yellow one (I was quite tempted by red and white colour variants, too…it is an awesome looking model).

I also visited Edouard who was excited he had some “new” cars to show me. I had a look and picked up a Hot Wheels AC Shelby Cobra (which I’d been searching for a while). Unlike most Hot Wheels this features an opening bonnet (hood) revealing the 427 cu in engine (7 litres), the Cobra goes as well as it looks.

I now have four models of the AC Cobra.

AC Cobras Kinsmart, Hot Wheels and Jada

AC Cobras: Kinsmart, Hot Wheels and Jada

The third car I picked up was a Hummer H2 by Maisto, I am not a great fan of Hummers or Maisto (1:64), but I don’t have a Hummer and it looked a reasonable replica from Maisto, I chose it over a Copa Camaro (I already have lots of Hot Wheels US Muscle cars) and a selection of Hot Rods, most with slightly buckled wheels and a rather playworn ’36 Caddy.

Have a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year!

One thought on “Christmas Presents to Self

  1. Pingback: Monthly Acquisitions: December 2014 | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

