New for 2015. Peugeot 307

Three days into the New Year I had a craving a for a new model car, am I an addict going cold turkey, four days without a new model car?

New Year. New model. New-Ray. New

New Ray Peugeot 307

New Ray Peugeot 307

I went into the city centre, too late for Drybridge Market, most of the sellers had packed away their goods. On to Carrefour, a supermarket with the cheapest new Hot Wheels in town (3 lari 90, most outlets are 4 lari 90 and some even 5 lari 90), unfortunately, after Christmas they only had a few left. Four models which didn’t appeal to me, they had more Matchbox (4 lari 50) but again they didn’t appeal, as I either had them (’68 Ford Mustang cc/cs and Porsche Panamera) or I wasn’t interested (Pit King, Blizzard Buster, Cadillac CTS).

Then I noticed some boxed 1:32 models “Speed Track Metal Car”, they had about twenty boxes but they contained just three different models: Citroen C4, Renault Megane and Peugeot 307. I think the French bias is because these models are made exclusively for Carrefour a French enterprise (like Hot Wheels makes some models exclusively for Walmart in the States). The base of the car shows it to be a New-Ray model. I like old French cars but modern dull hatchbacks are not very appealing to me. My last real car was a Peugeot 306,  faithful but unexciting transport. On the back of the box there is a suggestion of four models in the range, I didn’t see the Audi.

"Speed Racer Metal Cars"

“Speed Racer Metal Cars”

I already had a model of the three door Peugeot 307  in my collection, a model by Kinsmart also in 1:32 scale. The two models are of a similar quality, both are predictably “Made in China”. The raised Peugeot badge on the New-Ray model’s grille looks better quality than the sticker on the Kinsmart model.

Kinsmart model (left) just a sticker badge, New-Ray model (right) has raised Peugeot badge.

Kinsmart model (left) just a sticker badge, New-Ray model (right) has raised Peugeot badge.

The Kinsmart model has a pull back motor, the New-Ray model is freewheeling, I am not a fan of pull back motors…but then I am 50 not 5 years old! The Kinsmart model can be found for 6 or 7 lari the New-Ray model was 9 lari 90 but has a box unlike the Kinsmart model. I think the choice of cars was for children to have a model like the car their parents drive, a similar philosophy was shown with the original Corgi toys, the first seven models, which appeared  in the Corgi range (1956), were carefully selected from the most popular cars of the day: Rover, Hillman, Riley, Ford, Vauxhall, Austin and Morris.

Initial Seven Corgi Models. Picture taken form "Corgi Toys" by David Cooke

Initial Seven Corgi Models. Picture taken form “Corgi Toys” by David Cooke

Personally, I prefer more exciting sports cars, but I like the unusual colour of the Peugeot and it has given me something to blog about.

4 thoughts on “New for 2015. Peugeot 307

  1. Pingback: French Cars: Peugeot | jimholroyd diecast collector

  2. Pingback: French Cars: Peugeot | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

