Monthly Acquisitions: March 2015

This month has been highly unusual, in that I have added not a single Hot Wheels vehicle to my collection. I have looked through many Hot Wheels models but the retailers I frequent just have the same stock as usual, from which I have already taken the cars I want. I did buy some Matchbox and Bburago, however.

March 2015

March 2015

The month started with the discovery of Bburago 1:64 scale models in Metro Mart electronic hypermarket, I was looking for a computer, but can easily be distracted by diecast models. I pondered over the selection, torn between a Chevrolet Corvette and a Karmann Ghia. Because of its opening bonnet (hood), I opted for the Corvette (I was to return for the Karmann Ghia, three days later).

Bburago 1969 Chevrolet Corvette

Bburago 1969 Chevrolet Corvette

I bought a Bburago Porsche 911 Turbo (also 1:64) later in the month, and am sorely tempted by the larger (1:32 scale) Mercedes 450SL.

At Drybridge Market I saw a lot of nice models but the prices were too high, I did get an unidentified veteran car in plastic of possible Soviet origin.

vintage car (does anyone recognise what it might be?)

vintage car (does anyone recognise what it might be?)

In Carrefour, Tbilisi mall, just as I was beginning to think I would come away empty handed, I found a Matchbox City Works Five Pack with an Austin Mini Van that I was after.

Matchbox City Works 5 Pack

Matchbox City Works 5 Pack

Luckily I got this before a steep hike in Carrefour’s pricing of Matchbox and Hot Wheels. This five pack I picked up for 22 lari 90, now 5 packs are 28 lari 90….the lari has plummeted in recent weeks against the dollar. Single cars (Matchbox and Hot Wheels) are now 5 lari 75 (earlier in the month Hot Wheels were 3 lari 90 and Matchbox 4 lari 50).

I also bought a Spaceflight  pack from a cheap Chinese manufacturer (Xin Lian Meng). I like the moon buggy, the set is marked with United Nations markings.

Spaceflight Set

Spaceflight Set

A sixth Matchbox model this month came from Isaak in Vagzlis Basroba, a Renault Master Ambulance. The body unfortunately is plastic on a diecast base, Mattel seem keen to cut production costs on Matchbox vehicles.

Renault Master Ambulance Matchbox

Renault Master Ambulance Matchbox

The final model at the time of writing (26 March….still possible  I might buy some more before the month is out), is a DeAgostini Lotus Seven, this had been on sale at a kiosk near Technical University Metro with a magazine several months ago.

Magazines and cars on display at a kiosk. Lotus Seven on left.

Magazines and cars on display at a kiosk. Lotus Seven on left.

With the magazine it was selling for 18 lari. Somewhere along the line it had been separated from its magazine and was collecting dust on the floor of the kiosk. I asked the price, the surprised vendor, quoted 10 lari. It is a nice addition to my DeAgostini Supercars collection. Although it is 1:43, it is little bigger than a Matchbox or Hot Wheels car.

Lotus Seven

Lotus Seven

Totals: 12 Models (counting the Spaceflight set as one), 6 Matchbox, 3 Bburago, 1 Deagostini, 1 Xin Lian Meng and 1 Unidentified Soviet model.

1 Porsche 1 Chevrolet, 1 Austin, 1 Lotus, 1 VW, 1 Renault, the other vehicles are unlicensed or of undetermined make.

Total expenditure 65 lari 60 tetri ( $1=2.22lari 26 March 2015)

 

Leave a Reply

