Gran Turismo and collecting model cars

P1360331

Gran Turismo 6: Nissan Skylines, Toyota Supra and Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution

This month I treated myself to Gran Turismo 6 (and the necessary Play Station 3 on which to play it). I have in the past played on Gran Turismo games from one to four, I missed five. I was wondering how much it affected the model cars I collect. GT6 boasts 1200 cars but some makes are far better represented than others, there are something like 140 different Nissans but just one Maserati (i’d love it, if there were Boras and Ghiblis and Meraks). Some of my favourite cars are not there like Alfa Montreal and Citroen SM but they do have Ferraris now so I can race a Dino or a 512BB around the tracks.

Gran Turismo 6: Reanult Alpine A110, Ferrari Dino 246 and Lotus Europa racing around Madrid

Gran Turismo 6: Renault Alpine A110, Ferrari Dino 246 and Lotus Europa racing around Madrid.

Before playing Gran Turismo there were a few Japanese cars I liked: Datsun 240Z, Mazda RX7 and Honda NSX but playing the game I was introduced to the delights of cars like the Nissan Skyline and Toyota Supra. It is not all Japanese cars, my favourite rally car in game is the Ford RS200.

Ford RS 200 in GT4

Ford RS 200 in GT4

I now have several Japanese cars in my diecast collection and in my virtual garage.

This was a surprise to see in GT6 the Mazda RX500, the only other one I’d seen was a Matchbox one.

Gran Turismo 6

Gran Turismo 6: Mazda RX 500

Mazda RX 500

Matchbox Mazda RX500

Sometimes my model collection influences my choice of cars in GT6. The first American car I chose was a Mercury Cougar not because it is necessarily the best racer but it reminds me of Matchbox Mercury Cougars of the past, even the colour I chose was closest to the Matchbox model.

Gran Turismo 6

Gran Turismo 6:Mercury Cougar

Toyota Pairs

Some Hot Wheels Toyotas

Now I need 15 000 000 credits to get into a virtual Lamborghini Miura. It took a while and a lot of racing but I got the credits and I got a gold coloured Miura.

Lamborghini Miura

Lamborghini Miura: Matchbox and Maisto

Gran Turismo 6

Gran Turismo 6: Lamborghini Miura

I have played other driving games Driver, Need for Speed and Grand Theft Auto but Gran Turismo is my favourite.

Leave a Reply

