A Pony Trailer in need of a tow

On Saturday in a box of assorted vehicles at Drybridge Market, I came across a Matchbox Pony Trailer for the princely sum of 3 lari ($1.28).

P1490645pony

Pony Trailer in a box of assorted vehicles at Drybridge Market

A nice model with both horses, but what tow car should I display it with?

P1490665

“Polizei”Pony Trailer

The police cars I have, don’t have tow hooks.

Pony Trailer and Police cars

Lamborghini Gallardo and Buick Century Police Cars

The Pony Trailer would have originally come in a two pack with a Mercedes 280GE “Polizei”. I asked in a couple of Facebook groups (MCCH – The Matchbox Collectors Community Hall and Matchbox Romania) for suggestions as to what tow car I could display the trailer with. I had a few suggestions from group members including Steve Powell, “Dutch” Vanderaa and Jan Hauck. Mercedes Polizei vehicles seemed the favoured options. I didn’t have a Polizei Mercedes but I did have a Mercedes 280 GE Mountain Rescue thanks to Viljar. This seemed more fitting than the AMX Javelin, I had been using.

Pony Trailer and Mercedes 280GE

Mercedes 280GE and Pony Trailer

 

3 thoughts on “A Pony Trailer in need of a tow

  1. Pingback: Monthly Acquisitions: August 2016 | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a comment