Monthly Acquisitions: October 2016

october-monthly-haul

October 2016 Monthly Haul

I added 10 new models to my collection this month (October 2016). Finding a Dinky Triumph Herald for 40 lari near the beginning of the month, it was a struggle to keep my spending for the month under my nominative 100 lari budget, but I succeeded…just… spending in total 96.20 lari ($40.25).

Amongst the haul were 6 new Hot Wheels: The Beatles’ Yellow Submarine, BMW Z4M, Time Attaxi, Night Burner, Honda Z50 Monkey and ’69 Ford Torino Talladega.

P1520835.JPG

Hot Wheels Night Burner, Time Attaxi and BMW Z4M

The Dinky Triumph Herald was the highlight, holding it in my hand there is a tremendous nostalgia buzz, this model is older than me (manufactured from 1960 to 1964), it is not a model I had as a child, but it still reminds me of my childhood. Gocha in Drybridge market had saved it for me, I knocked him down from the original asking price of 50 lari to 40.

Trimph Herald in the hand.JPG

feel the nostalgia

Another find at Drybridge Market was the Matchbox 1965 Austin Mini Van, which cost me just 2 lari, it is not particularly old, it appeared in blue in 2008 in the Matchbox range. I have three others in different liveries.

The other two models are by Welly, which seems to be more numerous than ever in various marketplaces. I bought the 1:34 (approx) Jaguar XK180 from Vagzlis Basroba, the sprawling market around Tbilisi Central Station. There were a mix of Welly and Kinsmart in the shop. The Porsche 964 Turbo was from Carrefour, which now appears to be stocking Welly in preference to Hot Wheels and Matchbox.

p1530734

Welly Porsche 964 Turbo and Jaguar XK180

Totals: 10 Models. 6 Hot Wheels, 2 Welly,  1 Dinky, 1 Matchbox

2 from Drybridge market, 1 from Vagzlis Basroba, 1 from Carrefour (Kourneove), 6 from Carrefour (Tbilisi Mall)

Total Cost: 96.20lari ($40.25)

Leave a Reply

