Fast & Furious – Hot Wheels

Fast & Furious is a series of 8 movies to date, set in the world of illegal street car racing. The first three films I had on DVD, in the days when I still bought DVDs. The films are about fast cars, fighting, pretty girls and loud music and they have been immensely successful at the Box Office. Because there are so many cars and the films have been so commercially successful, it is unsurprising that the cars have been reproduced in miniature. Hot Wheels have several special series for Fast & Furious as well as including some of the models in the mainline range. Other diecast brands like Jada have also put out models related to the Fast & Furious franchise.

p1550840myp

2013 Hot Wheels Fast & Furious selection

Yesterday, I was pleased to find the ’70 Dodge Charger from Furious 7, the model (new for 2017) has suspension, befitting its off road capabilities and useful when hitting the ground after parachuting from a plane.

p1550841

My Fast & Furious Collection

I also have a model of the Toyota Supra driven by Paul Walker’s character Brian O Connor, which races Dom’s Dodge Charger in one of the iconic scenes from the first movie, I really need to find that Dodge Charger (also a ’70 but with an engine popping out of the hood).

Fast Furious 1 Race HD Dodge Charger vs Toyota Supra Dominic Toretto vs Brian OConnor

My fourth and final Fast and Furious model is the ’69 Dodge Charger Daytona with the massive spoiler, driven by Dom (who else?) in Fast & Furious 6.

p1550845

Toyota Supra, ’70 Dodge Charger and ’69 Dodge Charger Daytona

The Supra in the movie was built by movie prop veteran Eddie Paul from The Shark Shop in El Segundo, California.

fast-and-furious-supra

The late Paul Walker and the Toyota Supra from the first film (this isn’t my photo, it is from comicbook.com)

12 thoughts on “Fast & Furious – Hot Wheels

  1. Those cars look great. Especially that new 70 Dodge Charger, the paint looks great on that. I haven’t seen any of those Fast and Furious movies, I must give them a go. My favourite car movies are Two-Lane Blacktop and Vanishing Point, but there are so many good ones out there.

    • Fast and Furious has great cars and a lot of action…but its not oscar material…except maybe for special effects….
      As a kid I saw the Love Bug and the Italian Job, both of which I loved….

  2. I still haven’t seen that black Fast and Furious ’70 Dodge Charger anywhere, nor I have I found the VW Käfer racer yet. I did find another of the Matchbox pale blue VW transporter though. But this time I noticed when I got it home that the rear bay has items and tools sculpted in to it. The first one I got had an empty rear bay and was sculpted completely smooth (empty), but everything else is identical, Weird.

  3. That’s interesting. So it is deliberate then? I thought at first that the sculpted bit went on top of the smooth bit and the one I have just hadn’t been assembled properly. I suppose it is good for variety.

  4. That is very interesting, because I notice things like that. Do you know if the Black Matchbox 1966 Dodge A 100 Pickup ‘Mothers Car Wax’, has a different version, too? I ask because I have three of those, two are exactly the same, and they have the number H41 and a kind of cream stripe along the side with the ‘Mothers’ logo. But the third has the number H42 and the stripe along the side really is distinctly a very brilliant White in comparison to the two H41’s. In comparison, the White on the side of the two H41’s is almost a very light Grey/Cream in colour, relative to H42? Please forgive me if this all is nonsense. Many thanks.

    • It is not nonsense, part of the fun of collecting is in the details. I don’t have the Dodge A Pick Up, Mark. I had a quick look on the internet but didn’t find anything about that variation. The model has come out in 7 colours to date… http://matchbox.wikia.com/wiki/%2766_Dodge_A100_Pickup
      If you are on Facebook there is a group you could join a group called “MCCH – The Matchbox Collectors Community Hall” where you could post pictures of your trucks and ask other members if they are aware of these variations.

Leave a Reply

