Monthly Acquisitions : January 2017

The month started off very restrained, by the 17th, I had only added one model to my collection the amazing Hot Wheels Fairlady 2000 designed by Jun Imai. I had been ill at the start of the month and stayed in a lot, I also made only one visit to Drybridge Market.

p1550980

Covelight and Nissan Fairlady 2000 (both Jun Imai creations)

Then, I discovered Pepela on Abashidze Street (Vake, Tbilisi) had stocked up on a lot of new Hot Wheels models.

outside

…and lead us not into temptation. Pegs in Pepela.

On my first trip I got the Scooby Doo Mystery Machine to replace the van that had gone missing from my collection and the ’70 Dodge Charger from Fast & Furious. A second trip saw me add a ’77 Pontiac Firebird. Then finally on 28 January Pepela had a one day -30% sale… I got a second Mystery Machine, a Minecraft Minecart and a  Chevy ’55 Gasser in Red. I did leave some interesting models on the shelves like K.I.T.T. from Knight Rider, the USC Warthog from Halo, a “tooned” Mustang and a Custom ’72 Chevy LUV. In leaner months I would have got those, too.

p1560080

Still carded: ’55 Chevy Bel Air Gasser, ’77 Pontiac Firebird, Mystery Machine, Minecart

It wasn’t just Hot Wheels added to my collection. Other additions included two Welly 1:60 models a 1963 VW T1 Bus and  a Lamborghini Aventador. From the local market was a playworn Matchbox Formula One Racer with buckled wheels and a repaint (but just two lari and over 40 years old) and an unbranded Porsche 911 Turbo. Finally there was a Mazda RX7 (Kinsmart)with its paint stripped off by a previous owner, but looks kinda neat in bare metal. A dozen models in total. The cost was a reasonable 62 lari or $23, there were no highly expensive models, the two Welly cars from Carrefour were the most expensive at 6.90 lari each.

p1560079

January’s haul

The lucky 13th! on the final day of January (after I had published this post originally),  I found to my amazement a Hot Wheels Super Treasure Hunt. I finally found a Super Treasure Hunt

p1560133

The Mystery Machine (Hot Wheels Super Treasure Hunt)

Totals: 13 Models: 8 Hot Wheels, 2 Welly, 1 Matchbox, 1 Kinsmart,  and 1 unbranded Chinese model

7 from Pepela, 2 from Carrefour,  1 from Isaak in Vagzlis Basroba, 1 from Super, 1 from Smart, 2 from Varketili Market, and 1 a gift from my friend Mari

Total Cost: 68.99 lari ($25.58)

5 thoughts on “Monthly Acquisitions : January 2017

  1. Great selection there. I think that Fairlady is just an instant classic!

    I wonder which team car the Matchbox Formula One racer is based on? It looks a bit like a McLaren 10B F5000 car. It’s brilliant. That’s the kind of thing I hope to populate my collection with.

  2. Yes, generic is a better description, they seem to have picked the best bits of the F1 cars of the time and perhaps combined that with the higher exhausts of the F5000 series. Really nice model.

Leave a Reply

