Paul McCartney Mini

When I travel, I like to pick up a few diecast models on my trip. Visiting England and France usually turns over some good finds. Recent trips to Italy (2016) and Turkey (2017) have proved a little disappointing.

P1580799

In Turkey, after a brief afternoon in Ankara I headed to the tourist area of Cappadocia, full of souvenirs of the area but lacking in diecasts. I only added a single model to my collection a Paul McCartney Morris Mini which I found in a store called Toyzz at Ankara airport.

The Hot Wheels Beatles Series isn’t available here in Tbilisi, Georgia, so I was happy to come across the Mini. There are six models in the series, one for each of the Beatles, a bumper car with Yellow Submarine tampos and a Blue Meanies’ Kool Kombi.

P1580798

The Beatles Yellow Submarine models

I’m not particularly into the Beatles, although “Yellow Submarine” is the earliest pop song I can remember and the first record I bought was “Mull of Kintyre” by Paul McCartney’s Wings (I’m not proud of this!).  I like the Morris Mini casting, I have two others, so of the series this would probably be my choice (or George Harrison’s Fish’d n Chip’d Jaguar).

Daniels, a student of mine, has two of the other models, which his father found in Latvia.

P1580868

Blue Meanie Kool Kombi, George Harrison Fish’d and Chip’d Jaguar and Paul McCartney Morris Mini

One thought on “Paul McCartney Mini

  1. Pingback: Monthly Acquisitions: April 2017 | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

