Drybridge Market (Selling)

I have for a long time been a customer at Drybridge Market, a fleamarket in Tbilisi, the best place for finding older model cars in Tbilisi. Today, I had a go at selling some of the excess in my collection at the market. I took along 35 models. I thought I’d keep it simple and priced them all at 3 lari a piece (about $1.20). Many of the models cost me more originally, this wasn’t intended as an exercise to profit from my collection. I wanted to experience the other side of the market transaction. I was also interested to see if there were other collectors, having a hobby is more interesting when you know like-minded individuals. I know many other collectors from internet forums but not locally.

I arrived late in the day (3pm…the market begins at 10am) as I didn’t want to place myself in anyone’s place, I didn’t want to create a potential conflict by setting up inadvertently in a regular’s space.

P1630052

35 Models for sale (the Matchbox Ford Zephyr is not pictured, it didn’t sell)

P1630054

The view from my stall of other traders and customers.

My first sale was to a fellow trader (Serge), who was happy to give me 3 lari for a Soviet copy of a Mebetoys Lotus Europa (I expect he will resell it at a tidy profit, but that’s fine).

Lotus Europa Mebetoys

Lotus Europa (USSR Copy of Mebetoys model)

I was happy to see the Lotus go, I didn’t like the way the engine cover at the rear opens the wrong way, I would like to some day find the Dinky model of the Lotus Europa, which I had as a child and has a correctly opening engine cover.

I found the larger models went quickly, even though they are recently produced models that are “Made in China”.

I sold almost half of the models I brought (17 out of the 35). The two old Lesney Matchbox didn’t sell, surprisingly. I also reduced the price for those buying more than one car, 2 for 5 lari and even 9 for 20 lari.

P1630052myp

the models ticked were sold

I was at the market for 3 hours, it was very hot, next time I’ll take more water to drink. I was pleased with how my first tentative step at selling went. The 17 cars sold for 40 lari, I wasn’t doing it for a profit, Alexandre, another trader, said I wasn’t a businessman when he saw my prices (most traders on Drybridge ask for far more). It was an interesting experience, one I expect to repeat sometime soon.

 

3 thoughts on “Drybridge Market (Selling)

  1. Pingback: Monthly Acquisitions August 2017 | jimholroyd diecast collector

Leave a Reply

